Adding and Editing Information
- Types of Records
- Adding and Editing Basics
- Record Locking
This article is meant to assist you with adding and editing information in extendedReach. If you have a question not addressed here, you can search at the bottom of this article in Related Articles or contact support at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Types of Records
These are the types of records typically (but not limited to) added and edited in extendedReach:
- Case Relationships
- Case Household Members
Adding and Editing Basics
- Click on “Add” in the action bar to add New Records to the system.
Image: “Add New Record”
- “Edit” mode and “Read” mode are the two modes for all records in extendedReach.
- When adding a new record, you are automatically put into “Edit” mode.
- Records are broken up into information “fields”. Some fields require information in order for the record to be saved. These fields have labels that are highlighted in yellow.
Image: “Required Informational Fields”
You will receive an informational message if you try to save a record that is missing a required field.
Image: “Missing Required Fields”
- “Calendar Field”. Click on the calendar icon for a pop-up calendar. Dates fields require a slash “/” between sections (versus a dash “-”).
Image: “Calendar Fields”
- “Custom Combo-Box “ field. Click on the “+” icon to add new values to the drop-down box.
Image: “Custom Combo-Box Fields”
- Click on the “Save” button in the “Action bar” when you are done editing a record.
Image: “Save Additions or Edits”
- This will return you to the navigation point in the system prior to adding/viewing this record.
- Click the “Edit” button in the action bar if you wish to make changes to an existing record. You can then edit the record and click “Save” when you are finished. To not save any changes, click on the “Cancel” button.
Image: “Cancel Edits”
Adding or editing a related record (such as an activity, report, relationship, etc.) for an existing case or home that you are editing will automatically save any changes you have made before presenting the record you are adding/editing. For example, in the screenshot below, the user is editing a case. If the “Customer #” field was set to “123456” and then a phone call is added, this change in “Customer #” will be saved automatically before the “Phone Call” activity is presented.
Most of the records in extendedReach have a “Comments” tab. If a comment has been added for a particular record, an asterisk will appear next to the tab to indicate a comment exists.
Image: “Comments Tab”
To prevent two extendedReach users from modifying the same information at the same time, extendedReach uses record locking. Record locking occurs whenever a record is put into edit mode. If you attempt to edit a record that is locked by someone else you will receive an informational message and not be allowed to edit.
Image: “Locking Records”
Locking works as follows:
- You will always be able to look at a record that is locked by someone else. You just cannot make changes.
- As soon as the original editor saves their changes and leaves the record – that record is unlocked.
- Two or more users can add/edit activities and reports for the same case or home as long as they are not the exact same activity or report.
- If the main case record or home record is locked, no activities or reports can be added for that record until the main record is done being edited.
- If a user closes their extendedReach without saving their changes or logging – the record will be unlocked within a few minutes. Agency administrators can see a list of all users who have locked records and can manually unlock a record if needed.